Close Menu Element

Mobile Search Element

Mobile Portals

School Name

Left Header

Top Portals

Right Header

Exceptional Children


The vision of the Dare County Schools Exceptional Children's Department is to prepare our students with the education and skills they will need to live independently and be successful in college or a career. 

We are committed to providing a free appropriate education designed to meet the unique needs of students with disabilities. The Exceptional Children's Program will provide the support and related services necessary to implement the educational program and assure that students' and parents' rights are followed in this process.

Dr. Reida Roberts
Director of Exceptional Children's Services
(252) 480-8888 extension: 1926
Administrative Assistant 
(252) 480-8888 extension: 1903

Lead Exceptional Children's Specialists

School                      Coordinator         Phone Number
Cape Hatteras Secondary School          Joanna Tolson (252) 955-5730
Cape Hatteras Elementary School Jen Bonanni (252) 995-6196
First Flight High School Catherine Van Vliet (252) 449-7000 
First Flight High School Terry Buescher (252) 449-7000 
First Flight Middle School Gigi Ward (252) 441-8888 ext. 2283
First Flight Elementary School Lee Hux (252) 441-1111
Kitty Hawk Elementary School Sara Griffin  (252) 261-2313 ext. 1678
Manteo High School Lauren Nieman (252) 473-5842 ext. 1035
Manteo Middle School Gail Luciano (252) 473-5549 
Manteo Elementary School Brittney Midgett (252) 473-2742 
Nags Head Elementary School Lauren Dibble (252) 480-8880
Compliance Specialist and Instructional Coach Beth Kelly                       (252) 441-8888 ext. 2289     
Autism and Low Incidence Specialist Colby Voight (252) 441-8888 ext. 2244
EC Preschool Coordinator Karen Savona (252) 261-2313 ext. 1635
Lead School Psychologist Dayle Rust (252) 261-2313 ext. 1682


Non-Discrimination Statement

In compliance with federal law, the Dare County Board of Education does not discriminate on the basis of race, sex, religion, color, national or ethnic origin, age, disability, or military service in its policies, programs, activities, admissions or employment. Inquiries or complaints should be made to the Director of Exceptional Children Programs, Dare County Schools, 3020 Wrightsville Avenue, Nags Head, NC 27959; telephone (252) 480-8888. 

En cumplimiento de la ley federal, la Junta de Educación del Condado de Dare no discrimina por motivos de raza, sexo, religión, color, origen nacional o étnico, edad, discapacidad o servicio militar en sus políticas, programas, actividades, admisiones o empleo.  Las preguntas o quejas deben dirigirse al Director de Programas de Estudiantes Excepcionales, Dare County Schools, 3020 Wrightsville Avenue, Nags Head, NC 27959; teléfono (252)480-8888

Public Notice

The North Carolina Department of Public Instruction (NCDPI) is making available proposed language updates to the 2016 Specific Learning Disability (SLD) Addendum. The proposed updates will be available for public review April 29 – May 29, 2020. Comments will be accepted April 29 – May 29, 2020.

A copy of the proposed language updates will be available through local newspapers, the NCDPI Exceptional Children (EC) parent listserv, and the NCDPI website under Hot Topics. Additionally, each Local Education Agency (LEA) received a copy for public dissemination and review.

Interested citizens may submit comments via this link, or mail to:

NCDPI Exceptional Children Division ATTN: Matt Hoskins
6356 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-6356

Federal laws affecting special education and related services provided to students with disabilities in private schools require local educational agencies (LEAs) to receive input from private schools and representative parents of students with disabilities enrolled in private schools. This applies to students residing within the Dare County Schools attendance boundaries. A meeting will be held on Friday, May 27, 2022 at 1:00pm at the DCS Board of Education administrative building (3020 S. Wrightsville Ave., Nags Head, NC) to review and discuss developing procedures and practices for the provision of services to students with disabilities enrolled in private schools.