Close Menu Element

Mobile Search Element

Mobile Portals

School Name

Left Header

Top Portals

Right Header

Driver Education


Driver Education is an integral part of the Graduated Licensing Process and required in North Carolina for a student to obtain a learner’s permit or driver’s license before the age of 18. Driver Education is provided at Cape Hatteras Secondary School, First Flight High School, and Manteo High School and is available to all public, private, charter, federal and home school students enrolled in Dare County. Dare County Schools charges students a fee of $65 to offset the costs of providing the program.

Dare County Schools uses North Carolina Driving School to administer the driver education program. If you have questions regarding the driver education program, please contact a school representative. 

North Carolina Driving School navy logo with transparent background.

North Carolina Driving School

Learn more about the state of North Carolina's driver education requirements, registration, policies, and permits.

Learn more

Contact Us

Cape Hatteras Secondary School
Yuliana Martinez
(252) 995-5730

First Flight High School
Shannon Ewers
(252) 449-7000

Manteo High School 
Heather Tolson
(252) 473-5841 

North Carolina Driving School 
Home Office
214 Main Street
Winterville, NC 28590
(252) 321-6700

Dare County Schools Central Office
Shannon Castillo, Ed.D.
(252) 480-8888 ext. 1917

Driver Education Frequently Asked Questions