## DARE COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION

The Dare County Board of Education met in **special session** on Monday, January 30, 2023, at the Dare County Schools Administrative Office in Nags Head, NC. Members in attendance were Board Chairman Ron Payne, Vice-Chairman Barry Wickre, Mary Ellon Ballance, Susan Bothwell, Matt Brauer, David Twiddy, and Carl Woody.

Chairman Payne called the meeting to order at 3:01 p.m. and welcomed everyone to the meeting. He then led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Following the Pledge, Mr. Payne requested a motion to approve the agenda. Mary Ellon Ballance made a motion that the Board approve the agenda as requested. The motion was seconded by Susan Bothwell and approved 7 to 0 by the Board.

Mr. Payne then turned the meeting over to Board Attorney Rachel Hitch who provided brief remarks about the two policies noted below and being presented to the Board for second reading.

- New Policy 3105: Part-Time Admission of Home School Students
- Revised Policy 3620: Extracurricular Activities and Student Organizations

Next, Mr. Steve Basnight, Superintendent of Schools, provided a detailed overview of proposed Policy 3105 and answered questions from the Board.

Following Mr. Basnight's presentation, a motion was made by Mary Ellon Ballance to adopt Policy 3105 as presented. The motion was seconded by Susan Bothwell.

The floor was then opened for discussion and a couple of amendments were recommended by the Board before adopting the policy. Mrs. Ballance therefore withdrew her original motion and recommended the Board adopt Policy 3105 with the amendments as discussed. The motion was seconded by Carl Woody and approved 7 to 0 by the Board.

Next, Susan Bothwell made a motion that the Board approve the revisions to Policy 3620 as presented. The motion was seconded by Barry Wickre and approved 7 to 0 by the Board.

With there being no further business, Barry Wickre made a motion to adjourn the meeting. The motion was seconded by Susan Bothwell and approved 7 to 0 by the Board. The meeting was adjourned at 3:30 p.m.

Ron C. Payne, Board Chairman

Steve Basnight, Secretary