Close Menu Element

Mobile Search Element

Mobile Portals

School Name

Left Header

Top Portals

Right Header

Check This Out!

Keith Parker

Cape Hatteras Secondary School Principal, Beth Rooks has been named the 2019-20 Principal of the Year for Dare County Schools. Rooks is entering her eleventh year in Dare County Schools. She earned her Bachelors Degree in Elementary Education from Meredith College. After teaching fourth and fifth grade in Suffolk County Public Schools, she earned a Masters in School Administration from Old Dominion University. 

Middle School Director, Keith Parker says of Rooks, "Beth is an exceptionally passionate and dedicated educator. She is a strong advocate for all kids, and she values the importance of relationship building. You can often find her working late into the evening at school or attending community events on the weekends. She is a shining example of the indispensable value of effective school leadership." 

Rooks is proud of the success and growth of Cape Hatteras Secondary School. She attributes the school's success to the collective efforts of the community, parents, students, and staff. Among the many accomplishments under her tenure, she is most proud of the student mentoring program, the teacher coaching initiative, and the strong partnership between Cape Hatteras Secondary School and the Cape Hatteras Community. 

To learn more about Cape Hatteras Secondary School, visit the school's webpage

From left to right: Board Member Margaret Lawler, Chairman Bea Basnight, Principal of the Year Beth Rooks, Superintendent John Farrelly, and Board Vice Chairman Mary Ellon Ballance.