Close Menu Element

Mobile Search Element

Mobile Portals

School Name

Left Header

Top Portals

Right Header

Check This Out!

Keith Parker

Dare County Schools hosted the annual Teacher of the Year Banquet on Wednesday, September 25 at Pamlico Jack's in Nags Head. Each of the eleven schools selects a teacher to serve as the Teacher of the Year. Out of those eleven teachers, a district committee conducts interviews and selects one teacher to represent the district in the upcoming regional and state competitions. A complete list of the teachers is provided below. 

The banquet was made possible through generous contributions from Towne Bank, the Dare Education Foundation, and Horace Mann Insurance. 

The Board of Education provided each teacher with the following: 

  • A replica of an antique brass school bell including a personalized inscription of the teacher's name and school, 

  • A flower arrangement, 

  • A stipend of $150. The District Teacher of the Year receives a $500 stipend. 

  • The District Teacher of the Year also will attend a weeklong session at North Carolina Center for the Advancement of Teaching (NCCAT) and $250 for use in their classroom funded by Dare County Board of Education’s contribution to the NCCAT scholarship program.

Additionally, the Dare Education Foundation provided each teacher with a $100 award. The Foundation provided the District Teacher of the Year a $1000 professional development opportunity. 

Cape Hatteras Secondary School Art Teacher, Justin Paxton was selected to serve as this year's District Teacher of the Year. Justin's community mural art project has inspired many students, teachers, and business leaders to get involved in the Hatteras community.

2019-2020 Teachers of the Year for Dare County Schools: 

Solomon Dixon First Flight Middle School
Raleigh Hudock Manteo High School
Patricia Decker Cape Hatteras Elementary School
Amy Gross Nags Head Elementary School
Teresa Edwards Manteo Middle School
Ann Ball Kitty Hawk Elementary School
Lauren Deal First Flight High School
Charlotte Hester Manteo Elementary School
Justin Paxton (District TOY) Cape Hatteras Secondary School
Corinne West First Flight Elementary School
Dawn Tillett Dare Learning Academy


The 2019-2020 Teachers of the Year for Dare County Schools. 


Superintendent John Farrelly, Board of Education Chairman Bea Basnight and Cape Hatteras Secondary Principal Beth Rooks join for a photo with District Teacher of the Year, Justin Paxton.